Why the iPod still sucks…

Now I know that all of the iPod lovers out there are sharpening their claws to scratch my eyeballs out, but relax, I am an iPod owner as well. I am sold on iTunes and the easy unified experience. I even like the fact that I can easily type a song identifier in the search bar and generally get the song I want. Even though I had importing problems (for those who use who moved songs over being organised under the Real Player system and directories to the iPod system and directories) and my sometimes due to my general laziness.

But therein lies a feature I wish they would put into the iPod itself.

Searching capabilities suck within the iPod. All you are left with is the clickwheel and the selection of menus. It means I spend a lot of time trying to find music on my iPod instead of listening to music. It’s especially bothersome when I am not sure of a song’s complete name…for example, if I only know a couple of words in the song title or don’t know the artist’s full name…it would be nice if they just created a menu option called search, and you could select letters of the alphabet (in your local language of course) from the clickwheel and then it would return search results to you on your iPod. Let’s just start with that. And then, if they wanted to really impress us, allow us to save that list. I would give up 100MB for that feature to be in my iPod…I think most others would too.

Is that too much to ask?

My Apartment Is Santa’s City Apartment

Fuck it was cold in my apartment yesterday. The heat supposedly has come on today, but I don’t feel it coming in through the vents. The problem is not so much during the day, it is during the night when everything cools down. Last night it was the same temperature in my flat as it was outside. Without the blankets, I would have gotten hypothermia.

So I called the landlord today at 09.00 am and told him that no matter what else we have to talk about, the heat needs to work and it needs to work tonight. Santa called and asked if he could live with me on the weekends because he heard the temp in my apartment was the same as at the North pole.

In other news, I am supposed to get broadband “sometime this week”…and I am learning how the washing machine in the “laundry room” (which is really someone else’s apartment from what I can tell) is supposed to be working.

Overall, I accomplished things today, but nothing of what I wanted to do….

More about the weekend with the Danes in another post…

Markus Breaks His Leg

Or the better way to put that is that Markus has one of his legs broken by two very drunk and fat people at the club that we were at on saturday. they fell in him in such a manner that they broke his leg. which is really disappointing and upseting because he was actually sober and these two guys were go drunk that they weer falling over themselves. It is also a problem with sweden because in sweden people drink to get drunk always and without any consideration of the consequences of their drunkenness. and since these guys broke his leg and walked away, even that has no meaning because in sweden, there is no such thing as liability really. unless someone gets killed, there is no incentive on the part of the individuals who broke his leg to care. you really cannot sue individuals, even when their drunken behavior causes your leg to get broken.

so markus had to have surgery, will spend at least 3 months off of his feet, and the doctors are considering whether he needs a steel plate in his leg to be able to walk normally again…if that is even possible given the way that they have damaged his leg. He has an apartment to finish renovating in time for the winter, and his job required travel and mobility, which is not possible now.

i am so furious that a country that allows it’s citizens to get drunk without abandon has no penalty for their behaviour other than an “oops”.

Let me make this clear. I hope Markus finds them and extracts an appropriate price. Their drunkenness was inexcusable. and the consequences should be equally unforgivable.

The apartment continues to take good shape. The desktop computer made the move successfully. I can use my phone line to dial into my company network so at least I have some semblance of internet connection. I finally have cable TV after the store accidentially gave me the wrong cable box (for another cable provider). Robin came over and helped install the rack for the bathroom. Move of the content of boxes have been put away (now I have 4 boxes and 2 large messy tables left). And I made a stain on one of the couch cushions (not that kind you potty mind people ;), but I bought it to the cleaners and they told me that it would be no problem to remove. To prevent that from happening again, I am putting couch covers on both couches, and replacing his pillows with darker pillows.

Finally, I need to get permissions to drill holes into the wall to put up curtains, and I have deicded that I will move the dining room table slightly farther away from the wall and then place a chandlier over the table.

I am getting used to living in one large room. I will end up liking this place a lot. I’ll take pictures once I am done.

The Move-In Continues

Well moving into my new place is going just as well as I can expect. I got a phone yesterday so that was good news. I am getting mail at my new flat so that is also some good news. Had some discussions surrounding my stay here in Sweden on assignment, so for how long I will get to join the new apartment will be decided shortly.

Decided against going to Denmark this week. Too much to do and not enough time. But for the moment…I am focusing on my salad…